Hair, Life

Life Crisis: What I’ve been doing for 23 years

Since I’m going to be 23 soon (No that is not me in the picture above) I have decided to give a little recap on my life. My life has been exciting, boring, and confusing. Wrapped in a big giant ball of laughter. I must say for 23…I’m average.

1. Being Confused


I used to tell myself by 23 I would be done with College and on my way to the career of my dreams. SIKE. For the duration of the two decades that I have been alive I have bounced back and fourth between aspirations and skepticism. Is it normal for me not to know what I want to do at this age? SURE it is darling! (says every other older person with an opinion), but to me it’s terrifying. I started off wanting to be a lawyer, a journalist, a probation officer, a teacher and a day care owner. Now I want to be an astronaut/magician/lion tamer. The older I get the more I crave the stability of a job that I’m actually passionate about. The more I do that the more I lose focus on school by trying to find a shortcut because lets face it, there are a significant number of people who have degrees in a field they don’t even work in. All the long days at school just to end up doing NOTHING that you went to school for. I do not want to end up like that (No offense to those who work at Marshall’s but have a degree in engineering, no shade at all). The confusion is just me trying to find a career that I love, that has job openings, so I can actually make money. Easy as pie ( I’m referring to the mathematical symbol).

2. Taking Up Various Hobbies.


I have seen so many people transform their hobby into profitable small businesses. I decided that I want a piece of that pie (This time I mean the food). Sure I can’t design clothes or draw or make jewelery but I sure as heck can try. Then maybe I can sell them and end up on Good Morning America discussing how I made so much money over night! So lets see, so far I’ve done painting, knitting, photography and blogging. All in less than a year. Blogging and painting seems to be the only ones that stuck so maybe that counts for something. Good news is, I’ve actually made 6 bucks off of blogging. So take that MediaTakeout!

3. Changing My Hair.


It never fails. I’ll see a hair style in a Magazine or on T.V and say “Hey, if she can pull that off I know I can”. I’ve dyed my hair every color from blond to red since I was 15 years old. This could actually mean I developed an identity crisis pretty young, which would explain why I have a picture of Nicki Minaj up instead of myself. Anyways, As a result of dying my strands too much, my hair has become brittle and it hates me. Through perms, cuts, and curls my hair is now very resentful and will not be my friend. Every day I wake up and tell my hair “You is smart, you is kind, you is important”, just to build a good relationship again. Wigs and weaves are the devil to me and I have learned to just enjoy a short pixie while I have it because hair doesn’t stay strong for long in my family. Love you mom no disrespect.




Oh I’m sorry did I disappoint? Expecting enlightenment from this story? Hey I said I’m average this is pretty much what I’ve been doing for 23 years. Confusion, hobbies and hair is what occupies my thoughts. My brain is the 1%.

Standard

One thought on “Life Crisis: What I’ve been doing for 23 years

  1. Hahaha I love this! I'm turning 23 in a few months and I too feel like my life has been a string of mundane events. It's a problem… I go through life crises every 60 days or so and cry for a while until I realize that life goes on whether or not I am doing something important. Great blog – now following you!

Leave a Reply

