Beauty, D.i.y, Organic, Recipes

Beauty: Organic Body Care

Creating your own beauty/body products is not only satisfying, but it’s FUN!. Being able to be hands on with something that goes directly on your skin is amazing. So far me and my friend have made lip balm, body buffer, scrubs, nail soaks and a few other bath products. Not all of them come out smelling and feeling the way you hoped, but the ones that DO, you will want to make over and over again.

I just bought a book from Amazon.com for $10.00 called Organic Body Care Recipes by Stephanie Tourles. Inside it contains “175 Homemade Herbal Formulas For Glowing Skin & A Vibrant Self”. Hell I want all of that!!

I haven’t read it YET but it explains the qualities of skin, natural hair, storage tips and a whole chapter of “tools of the trade for a kitchen cosmetologist”,  amongst a plethora of other useful things. Over the course of me reading this book I will be sharing with you guys some of the products I have made and the effects it has had on my skin. Just to keep you guys interested, I will post a recipe that I will be making this weekend. Don’t be afraid to beat me to it and make it yourself!

*recipe is directly from the book, I take no credit for it*

“Cleansing and Rejuvenating Oil

All skin types, Daily use, shake well before each use, store in plastic squirt bottle or glass bottle, approx. 1/2 cup.

  1. 2 tablespoons each almond, apricot kernel, avocado or sunflower seed, and extra virgin olive base oil.
  2. 1 large cup or 2 small vitamin E oil capsules
  3. 20 drops sweet orange, lavender, or neroli essential oil.

 Combine the base oils in a storage container. Shake well to blend. Pierce the vitamin E capsule(s) and add to the mix. Add the essential oils, shake again.
      No refrigeration required, but for maximum freshness and potency, please use within 6 months.

Application tips: Shake well before each use. Using a soft clothing, cleansing pad, or your fingers, apply approximately 1/2 to 1 teaspoon to cover entire face and throat.”

Standard

2 thoughts on “Beauty: Organic Body Care

Leave a Reply

