Books

Book Review: Gone Girl By Gillian Flynn

BOOK-popup

I read this book in two days. It’s that good. It’s also very, very, frightening. Not in a horror way , but a “Dang that [insert character here] is crazy!” kind of way. It pulls out your sympathetic side then makes you hate some one so much just after a turn of a page. This book is wicked, disturbing, and shocking to say the least. Every chapter has a jaw dropping cliff hanger at the end of it, which is exactly why I couldn’t put it down. It keeps you wanting more, and also makes you think about your relationship. Without giving too much, I’ll give you guys a brief summary.

Nick Dunne is married to Amy Dunne. Through the course of the book you’ll find out that Nick considers their marriage pretty rotten. Amy is the one trying her best to be the best wife she could be (according to her diary). They both have lost their jobs, he has lost his faith in their marriage, and she is holding on to their union. Then all of a sudden, everything changes when Amy goes missing the day of their five-year anniversary. Here it is in a nutshell (in my opinion) without spoilers:

Nick is like: “What? I didn’t do it! Yeah I keep lying to the police but I’m a people pleaser! I have my reasons!”

Amy (Through diary entries) is like: “My dear, dear sweet darling husband, I’ll try my best to keep this marriage a float”

The rest of the world (according to the book) “Nick killed is wife! He is a liar! Hang Him!”

So where is Amy? What is Nick Hiding? You’ll be asking yourself these questions, and once you find out the answer, you will want to slap a few characters across the face. I almost threw my book.

I think this is the best book I’ve read since “Wicked”. Totally un-relateable, but just as good.

What’s even better, is that Reese Witherspoon has (already) been cast to play Amy Dunne in the movie . Oh yes, of course there will be a movie.

Standard

Leave a Reply

