Celebrity Juice

Saturday Night Live: Brown Skin Not Enough

I have been watching Saturday night live since Will Ferrell graced us with his top tier cowbell skills:

tumblr_lv7y0009Rk1qh7gfao1_r1_500

I have seen cast members come and go, and cried my eyes out when Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph and Amy Poehler said their farewells. I enjoy the vanilla variety of comedians on the show, and the way they connect with current events and the ever changing trends of pop culture makes me tune in every Saturday (meaning I watch it a few days later on Hulu). But when I watch SNL, and I see the best Good Burger employee ever, Keenan Thompson, doing an impression of Oprah, I wondered when will black women get a chance to shine on SNL. And this season, Leslie Jones and Sasheer Zamata got their chance.

YES! Black women that are going to be funny, not racially ambiguous, and dark skinned with natural hair (for the most part). When I saw them on screen I was ecstatic…but then as I watched them perform, my excitement fell flat. Now, I am not a comedian, but I am totally a critic of things I cannot do. They weren’t funny. When I tuned in for the SNL 40th season premiere, and the episodes that followed, their time on screen didn’t make me laugh. Not even a giggle. With Leslie being extremely loud and aggressive during her weekend update skit, and Sasheer’s terrible Rihanna impression, I have been disappointed. 

I don’t know if the writers aren’t creating characters that will highlight the comedienne’s knack for comedy, or if they just aren’t delivering their lines in a way that really gets the audience laughing, but they are the least funniest cast members of this season. (Including Jay Pharoah, impersonations can only get you so far). There are YouTube vloggers funnier than these two. Hopefully, next season, their skits are better or they find some black women that are actually hilarious. I understand the public outcry that was circling around the SNL crew to bring in some females of color, but really, this is what we get? Try again SNL, you’re almost there. (Actually you aren’t, you have about one black person in general on your show each season, and like 3 black women since the show began. Get it together).

Standard

Leave a Reply

